Going for a jacknife, hoping to avoid a bellyflop…

Here we go…

It’s been a long time since I’ve written anything.  Anything of substance, I mean.

I’ve spent the past nine+ months “writing” scripts, formats and promos for the wrestling company I was working for… but, to my mind, that wasn’t writing.  It was typing.

Prior to that, I had expended the vast majority of my energy working with my students.  I was so busy teaching them to write and doing everything that I could to inspire their creativity that I ended up turning my back on my own muse.  I didn’t make the time for myself.

I didn’t make time for myself because I chose to not make the time for myself.  I simply wasn’t motivated enough.  At the end (or the beginning) of each day, I was too uninspired to do my own work, knowing that I had other work to do.

This isn’t a “poor me” post, though.  This is me actually doing for myself for the first time in years.

This is me grabbing the bull by the balls, and forcing myself to sit down and actually pour my thoughts into the keyboard, instead of letting them simply flit away as they have for years now.  This is me getting back into the groove… getting back to doing what I do — putting words on the page.  And the more I do this, the better my words will become.

I’m not sure what I’ll be putting on here… which is the kiss of death for a blog, right?  No focus, no raison d’être?  Well, I could wait and plan and calculate and prepare for the next thousand Sundays, making sure everything is simply perfect before hitting the “Publish” button.  Or I could just dive in and see what I come up with…

Splash.

This entry was posted in General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Going for a jacknife, hoping to avoid a bellyflop…

  1. So true. That`s a goal of mine,is to have more time to my self. Good job ED. Thanks for everything.

    • eferrara says:

      Thanks, Mongol. And it’s not just about having time TO yourself, but FOR yourself. Time to do what you want to do, rather than what you feel you need to do.

  2. Adria C. Glass says:

    How ironic that you create a blog on the same site………..that I did. Too funny.

    Hope to see you soon IN PERSON. Not just online…maybe on a real line at Foodtown or Wegmans. God knows this summer there is a ton of them.

    • eferrara says:

      What’s your blog on here, Ade? I searched but can’t find it…
      Can’t wait to see you in person, too! Was just at Wegman’s yesterday — where were you??

  3. Jane Desy says:

    Raisons d’etre are overrated :)

    • eferrara says:

      …But subtle spelling corrections are very much appreciated, Jane! ;-)

      (If only there were such thing as a cross-cultural–bilingual spell checker….)

  4. Tam says:

    See! Looks great Ed!

Comments are closed.